‘Little Nicholas – Happy As Can Be’ Takes Top Honor At Annecy International Animation Film Festival

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman
Interdit aux chiens et aux Italiens
Cristal for a Graduation Film
Cristal for a TV Production
Co-produced French/Luxembourg film takes place towards the end of the1950s in Paris, René Goscinny (voiced by Alain Chabat) and Jean-Jacques Sempé (voiced by Laurent Lafitte) invented the character Nicholas, a small boy and prankster with a smile on his face whose days are punctuated by games with his band of friends, fights, joking around, and learning. When the fictional character is invited into the workshop of his “dads,” the roles are reversed, and it's the creators who recount their childhoods, their careers, and their friendship to Little Nicholas.
Yoriko Mizushiri  Dir.
The House
Chun Tae-il: A Flame That Lives On  
Alain Ughetto Dir.
Barry Gene Murphy, May Abdalla” /> Dir.
In 2021, Flee won top prize at the Annecy festival and then went on to grab three Oscar nominations, with one being for best animated film. Will Little Nicholas follow in the same path?
Balázs Turai  Dir.
Jury Distinction
A Dog Under A Bridge
Dir. Dirk Koy 
Little Nicholas – Happy as Can Be Le Petit Nicolas
My Love Affair With Marriage
The Record
Cristal For Feature Film
Goliath: Playing With Reality
Interdit aux chiens et aux Italiens  
Jury Award for a TV series
Maman il a quoi le chien?
Amandine Fredon FREDON, Benjamin Massoubre Dir.
Dir. Emma De Swaef, Marc James Roels, Niki Lindroth Von Bahr, Paloma Baeza 
Jun-pyo Hong  Dir.
Jury Award
Pierre Foldes Dir.
Save Ralph
Anxious Body
Dos Pajaritos
Cristal for a commissioned film
Cristal for a short film
Lola Lefevre Dir.
Gan Foundation Award for Distribution
Dir. Sujin Moon
My Year of Dicks 
Jury Award for a commissioned film
Dir. Wes Anderson 
Jury Distinction “For its beautifully crafted animation and its great physical experience”
Cristal for the Best VR Work
Signe Baumane  Dir.
Jury Award for a TV Special
Contrechamp Award
Jury Distinction
Jury Distinction
Sara Gunnardottir  Dir.
Dozens of Norths (Ikuta no Kita)
Jury Award
Alain Ughetto Dir.
Jean-Luc Xiberras Award for first film
Dir. Rehoo Tang 
Dir. Koji Yamamura
Dir. Jonathan Laskar 
Benjamin Cleary, Michael O’ Connor  Dir.
Directors Amandine Fredon and Benjamin Massoubre take home the top prize for their animated film Little Nicholas–Happy as Can Be at the annual Annecy International Animation Film Festival in France.
Jury Award
Off Limits Award
Here are the award winning films at this year’s festival:
Dir. Spencer Susser 
Alejo Schettini, Alfredo Soderguit Dir.
Contrechamp Jury Distinction
Spela Cadez  Dir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *